Programme for Convention

Lots of people have been asking for the convention programme. This is what we’ve got confirmed – we are also arranging a number of community workshops.


0.900 – 10.00


10.00 – 11.15

MAIN SESSION – Stareton Hall

Welcome – Jerry MarshallChairman AGAHST Federation of Action Groups
Convention Overview – Lizzy Williams – Chairman STOP HS2
Key Note Speaker – Christian Wolmar – “Britain’s Leading Transport Expert”

11.15 – 11.30

BREAK & EXHIBITION OPENS – Exhibition will stay open until 4pm

11.30 – 12.30

MORNING SESSIONS – choose from

  • Joint Session
    HS2 “A Waste of Money” – Geoffrey Robinson MP (Labour Coventry North)
    High speed rail, the national interest and the North-South divide – Professor Mike Geddes
  • The Impact on the Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – Steve Rodrick (Chief Officer Chiltern Conservation Board)
  • The Wendover Report – A Financial Analysis of HS2 – Dr John Savin

12.30 – 14.00

LUNCH – café facilities are available within the complex, or bring a packed lunch

14.00 -15.00


  • HS2 Compensation Guide – James Del Mar – (Knight Frank)
  • How will HS2 affect Birds – Colin Wilkinson( RSPB)
  • “The Great White Elephant” – HS2 Action Alliance

15.00 – 16.00


  • HS2 & The Council for the Protection of Rural England – Mark Sullivan (CPRE)
  • HS2 & The Impact on Wildlife – Stephen Trotter  (Chief Executive, Warwickshire Wildlife Trust)
  • HS2 & The Economy – Paul Withrington (Transportwatch)

16.00 -17.00

MAIN SESSION – Stareton Hall

HS2 and Sustainability – Professor John Whitelegg (Green Party, Professor of Sustainable Development)
HS2 & The European Connection – Mike Nattrass, MEP




  • The programme may change at any time.

  • Sessions include Q&A

  • All delegates will be offered a welcome pack upon entry

  • Workshops are currently being finalised and will be confirmed no later than Friday 11th February.

  • There will be an exciting choice of different community workshops within sessions.

No related content found.

2010-2020 © STOP HS2 – The national campaign against High Speed Rail 2